Last Updated on
Museums and galleries
Verulamium, was the third largest city in Roman Britain and the museum, Verulamium, stands on the site of the Roman town. It is a museum of everyday life in Roman Britain, containing recreated Roman rooms, some amazing mosaics and several intriguing objects - as well as the Sandridge Hoard - a collection of 159 gold Roman coins discovered nearby in 2012.
The full name of this place is the Avoncroft Museum of Historic Buildings and it was England's first open air museum, established in 1967. Avoncroft displays 30-odd rescued buildings and structures, ranging from 14th - 20th centuries, which have been re-built in 19 acres of rural Worcestershire. The museum includes a wildflower meadow, period gardens and a traditional cider and perry orchard. It is also home to the National Telephone Kiosk Collection.
The Fleet Air Arm Museum tells the story of the Royal Navy in the air. There are over 90 aircraft, from biplanes to supersonic jets, plus thousands of other artefacts, on show in four exhibition halls. It is Europe's largest naval aviation Museum. In addition it houses the first British Concorde, which you can go on board, and the 'Aircraft Carrier Experience', a fascinating tour round a realistic mocked-up carrier. The museum is exceptionally well laid out.
Local museum dedicated to local history, folklore and geography located in the former house of the castle's steward (18th century). The small castle, probably dating from 12th century, is ruined but parts of the keep and inner curtain wall remain. There is a pleasant walk on castle mount and great views from the castle walls.
The Brontë family moved to Haworth in 1820, when Patrick Brontë was appointed ‘perpetual curate’ of the parish church. They lived in the Parsonage, where the three immensely talented sisters wrote some of the finest literature in the English language. Though it will overwhelm those who do not actually worship the Brontës, the Parsonage Museum is fascinating. And the town of Haworth is always worth a visit anyway. Don't miss the Gothic splendour of the churchyard!
The Folly is the grandest building for miles, certainly in Settle - worth seeing for its wonderful windows alone. It was built by local lawyer Richard Preston sometime in the 1670s and has variously served as a family home, farmhouse, bakery, warehouse, furniture shop, refreshment rooms, fish & chip shop, bank, salvage business, holiday let, museum and coffee house. At one time, 21 people lived in it. The Folly at Settle now houses the Museum of North Craven Life, consisting of permanent and temporary exhibitions, a quality cafe and an artisans' gallery selling locally produced artwork and other items.
Be a giant! This is a delightful walk around model of Corfe Castle village as it was in 1646 at 1/20th scale. It opened in 1966 and is not only charming, but impressive. It appeals to children as well as adults.
More than 300 vehicles and the largest collection of tanks in the world. Enormous displays include the fascinating story of the tank, plus events and demonstrations of tanks in action.
Anne of Cleves' House formed part of Anne’s annulment settlement from Henry VIII in 1540. Anne of Cleves was Henry's 4th wife - divorced, beheaded, died; divorced, beheaded, survived. The house is a fine example of a late medieval timber-framed Sussex building, dating from the late 15th century with additions and improvements made over the next 200 years. Some of the rooms have been furnished in contemporary Tudor style. The house also contains the Museum of Lewes History and the Wealden Iron Gallery. There is a small garden, also inspired by the Tudor period, and a cafe. The house and museum is managed by the Sussex Archaeological Society.
Lewes Castle was built by the Norman William de Warenne, the Earl of Surrey, sometime around 1069, initially in wood. The castle was held by the de Warenne family until 1347, after which it slowly declined. It is a rare example (only two in Britain, the other being at Lincoln) of a castle with two mottes - defensive hills. One, Brack Mont, is inaccessible and stands adjacent to what is now a bowling green, once the castle's tilting yard. The remaining keep has been repaired, was used as a residence in the 18th century, and is largely intact, with great views of Lewes and the surrounding hills from the top. The castle also has a fine 14th century barbican gate and tower. The Battle of Lewes, between King Henry III and the rebel baron, Simon de Montfort, Earl of Leicester, was fought on nearby downland and in the fields surrounding the town on 14th May 1264. The castle is owned and managed by the Sussex Archaeological Museum, who also run a museum with artefacts dating from prehistoric to medieval times in Barbican House, opposite the castle, which is also the place to buy your tickets. Be wary of weddings and other events closing all or part of the castle - check the website before you make a special trip.