Battle Abbey was built on the orders of William the Conqueror, in penance for the bloodshed, on the traditional site of where some of the fiercest fighting during the Battle of Hastings took place on 14th October 1066. The high altar is supposed to mark the spot where Harold, last King of the English Saxons, fell. The abbey was dissolved and largely ruined in 1558. It then became a country house and, later, a school. The school is still there and not normally open to the public, but the abbey ruins, which include store rooms and wonderful vaulted ceilings, can be visited and there is a particularly fine 14th century gatehouse.
The abbey is managed by English Heritage alongside the battlefield of 1066.
Apart from a gatehouse off Cartmel's village square, the Priory Church of St Mary and St Michael is all that remains of the priory founded in 1190 by William Marshall, Earl of Pembroke, and one of the premier knights of the realm. The Augustinian priory was dissolved in 1536, but, having nowhere else to worship, the village was allowed to keep the church. Hence, for a parish church, it is very grand - with an enormous east window and many fascinating features and fine monuments.
Impressive and extensive ruins, which include a virtually complete west range with the prior's lodging and several wonderful features - including a ceiling with original painted Tudor roses. The site is enormous, and varied. There's also an exhibition and a herb garden.
The evocative ruins of a small Premonstratensian monastery in a picturesque location just above the River Tees. The monks that lived here were often short of money. It is a charming spot now; perhaps it was then too.
There is a small car park. It is also possible to walk from Barnard Castle.
Atmospheric ruins of the great Cistercian abbey that stood here from the 12th century for 400 years. Fountains Abbey is the largest monastic ruins in the United Kingdom.
The ruins of one of the most impressive abbeys in the land - and in its day, one of the richest. Founded by Stephen, later King of England, the remains date mainly from the 12th and 13th centuries. As well as the abbey church and other buildings, there's a fascinating display of rare effigies of knights. Also on display is the 'Furness Crozier' and abbot's ring, excavated from a grave.
The ruins of Glastonbury Abbey are associated with two famous legends: firstly that Joseph of Arimathea visited Glastonbury in the 1st century AD, planting his staff which grew into a thorn tree and, secondly, that Glastonbury is Avalon and the burial place of King Arthur and his Queen, Guinevere. There is a thorn tree on the site that, it is claimed, descends from Joseph's staff. And there is a grave that purports to be that of Arthur and Guinevere. The abbey is said to date from 7th century; by 1086, it was allegedly the richest monastery in England and, in the 14th century, only Westminster was wealthier. The community was dissolved on the orders of Henry VIII in 1539 and the last abbot, Richard Whiting, was hanged, drawn and quartered on nearby Glastonbury Tor.
The legend is that while King David I was hunting in the area he had a vision of a stag with a cross glowing between its antlers. Interpreting this as an act of God, the King declared that an abbey should be built on the same spot, and the Augustinian Abbey of the Holy Rood was accordingly founded in 1128. Holy Rood means ‘Holy Cross’, a fragment of which had allegedly been brought to Scotland by David’s mother, St Margaret, and kept at the Abbey until the 14th century.
Holyrood Abbey is part of the Palace of Holyroodhouse and can only be visited as part of a visit to the Palace.
Muchelney Abbey was a Benedictine house, founded in 939AD - though religious buildings were on the site as early as the 8th, or possibly 7th, century. It was dissolved in 1538 and many of its materials were re-used in the adjacent parish church of St Peter and St Paul, and other local buildings. Most abbey buildings survive in outline only, but the monk's thatched lavatory building (reredorter) is exceptionally complete, there is a section of cloister and the abbot's early Tudor lodgings are virtually intact. Spot the Tudor rose painted on a ceiling more than 400 years ago.
Beaulieu is a stately home as well as home to the National Motor Museum. The estate has been in the hands of the Montagu family since the 16th century and is based around the ruins of the medieval Beaulieu Abbey. The National Motor Museum tells the story of motoring and the collection includes some 250 vehicles, old and not so old, cars, motor cycles and racing cars. As well as the museum and the abbey, a visit to Beaulieu can include the palace/house, the extensive gardens, at least two exhibitions - at the time of writing there are exhibitions of 'the World of Top Gear', featuring many original vehicles from the TV show, and an exhibition about SOE - the secret Special Operations Executive - who used Beaulieu for training during WW2. On top of that, there's a monorail and loads of things going on, like a vintage bus chugging about, offering rides.