Last Updated on
This is the place to search for places and things of interest to visit in Britain, by name, location, type, keyword – or just have a browse. It is a growing directory – 700+ entries as of October 2019. Most entries have links for further information.
Local museum telling the story of the Slate Islands - Isle of Seil, Easdale Island, the Isle of Luing, and Belnahua. It houses a collection of photographs, artefacts and genealogical records related to the social and industrial life of the Slate Islands, especially the people engaged in the former slate industry, from the 18th - 20th century. There is also a Folk Museum on the nearby island of Easdale.
The ruined old church at Alloway dates from the 16th century, though the site could be much older. It is most famous now due to it being featured in Robert Burns' poem 'Tam o' Shanter' (1791), as the place where witches and warlocks gather. The churchyard is fascinating and includes the graves of Burns' father, William Burnes, and sister, Isabella Burns Begg. Combine with a visit to the Robert Burns' Museum, his birthplace, Burns Monument and Brig o' Doon.
Beautiful old cobbled bridge over the Doon, built in the 15th century. It features in the 1791 poem, 'Tam o' Shanter', when Tam gallops across the bridge on his horse, Meg, pursued by witches and warlocks. He escapes - but they grab Meg's tail! Combine with a visit to the Robert Burns' Monument, Museum, Alloway Old Kirk and his birthplace.
The old churchyard surround the ruins of Kirkoswald's old parish church, dedicated to St Oswald, King of Northumbria, who is said to have won a battle on the site in c634AD and built a church in thanks for his victory. Inside the church is the font that is said to have been used for the christening of Robert the Bruce at nearby Crossaguel Abbey in 1274, moved here for safety during the Reformation. It is not possible to enter the church, but the font can be seen through a door. As well as containing several fascinating and astonishingly ornate headstones, the churchyard is the last resting place of many associated with Robert Burns, who went to school in Kirkoswald. Amongst the burials are his maternal grandparents, teacher, Hugh Rodger, John Davidson (Souter Johnnie), Douglas Graham (Tam o' Shanter) and Jean Kennedy (Kirkton Jean).
Celebrating the life and works of Robert Burns (1759-1796), this is a modern, custom-built museum and visitor centre including shops, restaurant and kids' adventure playground. The latter is amazing, incorporating images from the poet's works into the play facilities. The museum tells the story of Burns' relatively short, but prolific, life based on themes, rather than a logical sequence of events. Geared to the already converted rather than creating new fans, the museum is still interesting. Combine with a visit to Robert Burns' Birthplace, Alloway Old Kirk, Burns Monument and Brig o' Doon.
Robert Burns' poem Tam o’ Shanter featured a souter - shoemaker - who was Tam's partner-in-crime. The souter was said to be based on John Davidson, who lived in this thatched cottage with his family in the late 18th century and who is buried at nearby Kirkoswald Church. Souter Johnnie's Cottage is now a showcase for local artists, with a gallery and gift shop; there is not much else to see.
A WW1 airfield was built in 1917 amidst a golf course that was laid out in 1902, with a luxury hotel being built in 1906. The airfield was initially an aerial gunnery school for the Royal Flying Corps, later the Royal Air Force. The RAF left after the war, but RAF Turnberry was reinstated for WW2, this time for coastal command and torpedo training. The hotel was used as a hospital during both wars. The memorial, standing lonely in the golf course, commemorates aircrew from the UK, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the USA. Park by the entrance to Turnberry Lighthouse and walk across the golf course toward the lighthouse - where you will also find the remains of Robert the Bruce's castle and fabulous views across to Ailsa Craig.
The barely recognisable remains of one of the castles of Robert the Bruce - and possibly his birthplace - lie under and around a restored 19th century lighthouse, on a golf course, on a dramatic headland with views across to Ailsa Craig. The castle was probably 13th century and is believed to have been wrecked on Bruce's orders, to prevent the English using it. The lighthouse was built in 1873 to warn ships of the treacherous Bistro Rock. The light is now automated and in 2016 part of the lighthouse was converted into golf cafe and a luxurious two-bedroom apartment by the Trump Organisation. There's not much to see or do - unless you can afford to stay at the lighthouse or are playing golf - but it is a fascinating walk. Park by the entrance to Turnberry Lighthouse and walk across the golf course. Also see the aviation memorial and the remains of RAF Turnberry's runways.